Design Review Committee

The Design Review Committee meets at 5:30 p.m. The Committee usually meets in the Council Chambers (although the location is subject to change), and the meetings are later broadcast on ORCA channel 17. All meeting rooms and facilities in City Hall are accessible to persons with disabilities, including headphones in the Council Chambers for persons with hearing impairments. For evening meetings, the rear entrance to the building should be used.

Members are urged to let staff know as early as possible if they will be unable to attend a scheduled meeting so arrangements can be made to ensure a quorum.


The Design Review Committee consists of up to 5 members and 2 alternates having knowledge and interest in design, architecture, landscape architecture, graphic design, historic preservation, archaeology, or the historic development of the community. Appointments are made by the City Council for 3 year terms.
  • Stephen Everett, Chair
    Term expires: 9/14/2017
  • Eric Gilbertson, Vice Chair
    Term expires: 9/14/2017
  • Seth Mitchell
    Term expires: 9/16/2017
  • Theodore Fetter
    Term expires: 9/23/2018
  • Hannah Smith
    Term expires: 4/8/2018
  • Liz Pritchett, Alternate
    Term expires: 9/23/2018
  • Ben Cheney, Alternate
    Term expires: 9/16/2017

About the Committee

The Design Review Committee's role is to advise the Development Review Board on matters concerning exterior alterations to land or properties in the Design Control District.

No structure, sign, fence, or landscaping in the Design Control District may be erected, reconstructed, substantially altered, restored, moved, demolished, or changed in use or type of occupancy without review of the plans by the Design Review Committee, and approval of the plans by the Development Review Board.

The Committee is also available to applicants and citizens for design consultations well in advance of the actual submission of an application. Such early discussions with the Committee are encouraged and may provide new ideas, ensure compliance with the Design Review criteria, and save time and money before more formal steps are taken.
City of Montpelier design control district map
The Design Control Overlay District consists of areas within the Central Business Districts, the Capitol Complex area, the Memorial Drive gateway, Vermont College of Fine Arts and CCV campuses, office park districts, and other designated areas where historic preservation and design considerations need to be considered. The Design review criteria are found in Section 305 of the Montpelier Zoning and Subdivision Regulations, and guidance is provided by the Cityscape I and II workbooks.

Design Review Committee Vacancies

The Montpelier City Council is seeking individuals interested in filling three, 3-year seats, and one, 3-year alternate seat on the City’s Design Review Committee.   The Design Review Committee’s role is to advise the Development Review Board on matters concerning exterior alterations to land or properties in the Design Control District.  Please submit a letter of interest with a brief resume by noon on Wednesday, September 6, 2017, to the City Manager’s Office, City Hall - 39 Main Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05602, or via e-mail to The City Council will make these appointments at their September 13th meeting; applicants will be notified and are encouraged to attend.  All municipal meetings are accessible to people with disabilities and are held in accordance with the public meeting and public records laws.  If you have questions, call the Planning and Development office at 223-9506.