City Department COVID-19 Response

Assessor

The Assessor’s Office is responsible for appraisal and assessment of all taxable real estate and personal property; maintenance of property information records, sales information, and tax maps; and providing information to other departments, outside agencies, and the general public.

This Assessor’s Office is available by appointment. Contact: 

Stephen Twombly

Assessor

stwombly@montpelier-vt.org

802.485.6400

Jane Aldrighetti

Assessor’s Assistant

jaldrigh@montpelier-vt.org

Building Inspector / Health Officer

The Building Inspector and Health Officer is a Division of the Montpelier Planning and Development Department. One full time Assistant Building Inspector/Assistant Health Officer staffs the division.

The Building Inspector / Health Officer is available by appointment. Contact: 

Chris Lumbra

Building Inspector

clumbra@montpelier-vt.org

Cemeteries

The carved stones in Montpelier’s cemeteries are daily reminders of those who came before and helped lay the foundation and character of this city.

Green Mount Cemetery is open for appointments and burials. Patrick Healy and Carl Griffith are available.

Patrick Healy

Director

cemetery@montpelier-vt.org

802.279.6957

City Clerk

Visit the City Clerk for licenses, vital records, marriage licenses, and property tax information.

City Clerk’s Office is available by appointment. Contact: 

John Odum

City Clerk

jodum@montpelier-vt.org

802.223.9500

Crystal Chase

Deputy City Clerk

cchase@montpelier-vt.org

City Manager

The City Manager is the head of city government, and is responsible to the City Council for the administration of the affairs of the city, and carrying out the policies of the City Council.

City Manager’s Office is available by appointment. Contact: 

William J. Fraser

City Manager

wfraser@montpelier-vt.org

Cameron Niedermayer

Assistant City Manager

cniedermayer@montpelier-vt.org

Jhasmine Lamb

Assistant to City Manager

jlamb@montperlier-vt.org

802.223.9503

Community Services

The Community Services Department provides for the health and well-being of Montpelier residents and visitors by offering cultural, recreational, social, and outdoor opportunities for all people of all ages.

Montpelier Senior Activity Center is available by appointment. 

Website: www.montpelier-vt.org/msac

FEAST Senior Meals continues to operate by request for Meals on Wheels and by reservation for pick-up/To-Go meals on Tuesdays/Fridays. For more info, visit: https://www.montpelier-vt.org/309/FEAST-Meals-Program
Phone: 802.262.6288

Online class registration (Spring classes being set up for alternate delivery in video and interactive remote options): https://www.montpelier-vt.org/751/Classes

Weekly e-letter and other regular social media postings: To subscribe, email a request to msac@montpelier-vt.org

Regular website updates to this and associated pages: https://www.montpelier-vt.org/1128/This-Week-at-MSAC 

 Montpelier Recreation is available by appointment. 

Website:  www.montpelierrec.org 

There is a drop box for registrations and payments on the side entrance of the Senior Center.

 Parks and Trees is available by appointment. 
Website: https://www.montpelier-vt.org/1157/Outbreak-Activities

Janna Clar

Director

jclar@montpelier-vt.org

802.223.2518

Norma Maurice

Office Manager

nmaurice@montpelier-vt.org 

802.225.8699

Jacqueline Huettenmoser

ECO Americorps Member 

ECO-Americorps@montpelier-vt.org 

Community Justice Center

The Montpelier Community Justice Center improves community health and safety by helping people whose lives are disrupted by conflict or crime.

Community Justice Center’s Office is available by appointment. Contact: 

Yvonne Byrd

Director

YByrd@montpelier-vt.org

802.262.6260 for Conflict Assistance and general CJC business

Carol Plante

Programs Coordinator

cplante@montpelier-vt.org

802.522.5566 for RJ Program inquiries

Alfred Mills

Reentry Specialist

amills@montpelier-vt.org

802.279.9467 for Reentry & COSA related business

Pat Hoffman

Victim Services Specialist

phoffman@montpelier-vt.org

802.262.6262 for victim services

Finance Department

The mission of the Finance Department is to ensure that all resources of the City of Montpelier are managed and accounted for in an effective and efficient manner, that all financial records are presented in a timely, accurate and meaningful format and that all staff members work toward continuous improvement and professional service.

Finance Office is available by appointment. Contact: 

Kelly Murphy

Finance Director

kmurphy@montperlier-vt.org

Fire & Ambulance

Full-time personnel support the prevention activities and provide the initial response to emergency incidents as they occur. The Department also provides Emergency Medical Services to the community.

Montpelier Fire and Ambulance is available by appointment. Contact: 

Fire Station phone  802.229.4913

If you have a question with an Ambulance Bill please contact Kris Hepburn at 802-262-6010

khepburn@montpelier-vt.org 

Fire Chief Cell 802.371.9633

Robert Gowans

rgowans@montpelier-vt.org 

Deputy Fire Chief Cell  802.777.0000

James Quinn

jquinn@montpelier-vt.org 

Planning & Community Development

The Planning and Community Development Department is driven to serve the community by facilitating the creation and preservation of a healthy, safe, sustainable, and high quality living environment through the management of an effective and on-going planning and implementation process.

Planning and Community Development’s Office is available by appointment. Contact: 

Michael Miller

Planning Director

mmiller@montpelier-vt.org

Audra Brown

Planning and Zoning Assistant

abrown@montpelier-vt.org

Kevin Casey

Community Development Specialist

Kcasey@montpelier-vt.org

Chris Lumbra

Building Inspector

clumbra@montpelier-vt.org


Meredith Strobridge Crandall

Zoning Administrator

mcrandall@montpelier-vt.org


Police Department

The Montpelier Police Department will be devoted to providing professional and quality police services, and will strive to remain effective, efficient, and responsive to the changing needs of our community while providing a safe environment that enhances the quality of life in Montpelier.

Police Department is available by appointment. Contact: 

Dispatch

802-223-3445

Anthony Facos

Police Chief    

afacos@montpelier-vt.org

Kristine Hepburn

Public Safety Support Services Administrator    

khepburn@montpelier-vt.org 

Public Works

The Public Works Department is the largest of city departments and is responsible for providing a variety of services to the residents of Montpelier.

Public Work’s Office is available by appointment. Contact: 

Donna Barlow Casey

Director of Public Works

dbarlowcasey@montpelier-vt.org

Kurt Motyka, PE

Deputy Director/ Engineer

kmotyka@montpelier-vt.org

Zach Blodgett

Operations Manager/City Engineer

zblodgett@montpelier-vt.org

Jasmine Boyce

Administrative Assistant

jboyce@montpelier-vt.org