Marriage Licenses

To get married in Montpelier you will need $70 and identification. If you were previously married, you will need to bring documents verifying the previous marriage is no longer in effect (a divorce decree or a death certificate).

Information on Justices of the Peace is below

Justices of the Peace:

José Aguayo (P), josedaguayo@gmail.com
Kim Cheney (D), kimcheney35@gmail.com
Cary Brown (D), cbrown9904@gmail.com
Barney Bloom (D), darryl.bloom@gmail.com
Kathy Johnson (D), vermontequity@gmail.com
Judith Newman (D), jnewmanvt@gmail.com
Catherine Simpson (D), cosimpson96@gmail.com
Robb Kidd (P), robb.kidd@sierraclub.org
John J. McCullough (D), Mcculloughiii@comcast.net
Ron Wild (D), ronhwmail@gmail.com
Maggie Lenz-McQuilken (D), mlenzmcq@gmail.com
Michael Badamo (D), michaelbadamo@gmail.com
Valerie Lewis (D), valerie.lewis2@myfairpoint.net
Page Guertin (D), pguertin2021@gmail.com

Duties & Responsibilities of Justice of the Peace


The following is an excerpt from the State of Vermont, Office of the Secretary of State website. There are basically 5 categories of responsibilities for justices of the peace.
  1. They serve as a member of the board of civil authority, which by law is responsible for adding and removing names from the checklist, and for serving collectively as the local election officials at any municipal or state election. As a justice, they also are responsible for delivering absentee ballots to voters at election time.
  2. They have a responsibility in the town's tax appeal process. As a member of the board of civil authority, they sit to hear the tax appeals of citizens aggrieved by the final decision of the listers. They also sit as a member of the municipal board for abatement of taxes.
  3. They may solemnize marriages in Vermont.
  4. They may administer oaths in all cases where an oath is required, unless the law makes a different provision.
  5. Finally, they may serve as a magistrate when so commissioned by the supreme court.
For more information, check out the Vermont Justice of the Peace Guide (PDF), published by Deborah L. Markowitz, Secretary of State, 2010.