Energy Advisory Committee

*This committee is seeking new members! Thinking about joining? Click here to submit an application!*

About the Committee

The Montpelier Energy Advisory Committee was founded in 2010 to act in an advisory capacity to the City Council on energy issues. MEAC identifies and nurtures energy-saving projects and opportunities; informs and engages city residents on energy issues; and partners with other statewide groups to foster projects that reduce Montpelier’s energy use or help to meet its energy needs from renewables. 

Montpelier is committed to becoming the first capital city to eliminate fossil fuel use by converting to 100% renewable energy. By 2030, 100% of the energy used for municipal government operations (thermal, electrical, and transportation) will be renewable or offset. By 2050, fossil fuel use will be eliminated entirely and 100% of energy needs (municipal, residential, and commercial) will be met renewably.

MEAC's Progressive Work

  • The City's Net Zero Action Plan: can be found here.
  • The City's Home Energy Ordinance can be found here.
  • MEAC's Webpage to get further details about the ordinance here.
  • How to comply with the Home Energy Information Ordinance here.

Find more information about the City's Home Energy Ordinance here on the City's site: 

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. Click here to view Agendas and Minutes.


MEAC meets in City Hall's Memorial Room on the third Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m.  Feel free to attend.
For more frequent updates on MEAC projects, check out our blog and our Facebook page.


To reach the whole committee, email

Tim Favorite - Member, Secretary

 Geoffrey Fitzgerald - Member

Amy Gamble - member

Karl Johnson - Chair

Dan Jones - Member

Ken Jones - Vice Chair

Kate Stephenson - Member

Amanda Sardonis - Member

Julia Leopold - Member

Staff Rep. Chris Lumbra - Sustainability and Facilities Coordinator

Sal Alfano- Council Rep 

Lauren Hierl - Council Rep

3 Vacancies